Sein und Zeit

For months I’ve been trying to avoid the confrontation that awaits with Heidegger’s Being and Time.  Given that I happened to be the bearer of a gift card to my university bookstore, and after a small existential crisis about the merits of Stambaugh/Schmidt vs Macquarrie/Robinson – or whether perhaps Foucault’s History of Madness might be more worth my time – I finally heard/felt “the call”.  Everything has been pointing here in recent months.  Strauss, Levinas, Derrida, Schmitt, Sloterdijk, &c.  I can’t say enough how much I enjoyed Richard Velkley’s Heidegger, Strauss, And the Premises of Philosophy: On Original Forgetting.  And, as an I.R. student trained in the Critical tradition, the problem of nomos has been uncharacteristically making itself known in a variety of ways.  Let a large amount of angst ensue.

2 comments
  1. Liam said:

    Godspeed as you proceed down the rabbit hole. I look forward to hearing of your travails endured during what is sure to be an epic encounter.

  2. Mike D said:

    At the very least it is leaving me with some chapter title/subtitles that will be better than the dissertation itself.

Leave a Reply

